Editing Life has a new look

The last time you visited my blog, it looked a lot different.

For a while now, I haven’t been happy with the design as it was. It was clunky and took forever to load, and I just didn’t like it. And since I’m on vacation through Christmas Day, I decided to take advantage of my time off and make some changes.

As you can see, I’ve chosen a completely new layout. One that is more pleasing to the eye, in my opinion, and one that loads right away. And, most importantly, I think it will provide a more enjoyable experience for you, my loyal readers.

A NOTE BEFORE WE GET STARTED. The changes listed are written as if the user is visiting from a desktop or laptop computer. I will show later how it’s different when viewed by a phone or tablet.

When you first visit, you’re greeted with the main photo and link to my latest blog post. You’ll also find two navigational mainstays at the top of the page: the logo on the left and three horizontal parallel lines on the right. Both of these elements will be found at the top of the page regardless of where you navigate in my blog and regardless of the device you’re using. The logo will lead you back to the homepage, and I’ll explain the lines in a bit.

As you scroll down, you’ll see previous entries to the left and links on the sidebar to the right.

blog-postsTo the left, to the left

Above the blog posts on the left side of the page, you’ll see categories I’ve assigned to individual posts. My interests are faith, family, sports, politics and entertainment, and those are reflected in the categories. Plus, there’s always the etc. category for posts that don’t quite fit. Click on the individual categories to find all the posts under that particular heading.

The rest is self-explanatory.

To the right, to the right

sidebarsNow, to the right, you’ll see the sidebar section.

On the top left, you’ll find a search bar where you can enter various keywords to search the entirety of my blog. As you work your way down, you’ll find links to follow my blog, and below that, you’ll find links to past posts.

On the top right, you’ll see links to Editing Life’s Facebook page, along with links to my personal Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn accounts.

As you work your way down, you can follow Editing Life’s Facebook page right from my blog, if you so choose. And just below that, you also can check out my Twitter feed.

20161220_234333From a phone or tablet

Obviously, the experience is different when viewed from a phone or tablet. To see the sidebar items I mentioned above, along with other links, please tap on the three horizontal parallel lines at the top right of your screen.

If viewed from a computer, those same parallel lines will give you links to the homepage, about page and contact page.

Facebook changesfacebook-changes

If you follow Editing Life on its Facebook page, also found here, you’ll notice changes there, as well.

My wife suggested a mostly free design website, Canva, where bloggers — and anyone, really — can design pretty much anything.

I experimented a bit and designed a new blog logo to go along with the site’s new look. Plus, I added a new cover image to reflect my career in the newspaper business and my blog’s title.

Enjoy

Hopefully, this post helps you navigate the new look.

Feel free to look around and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

