It’s gonna be a busy fall

I’m not much of a reader. I’m more of a watcher — as in Netflix and TV.

I struggle with this because, as Stephen King says, “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write.”

My Goodreads account shows my pathetic rate. In the past two years, I’ve read five books. Five.

My wife, in that same time period, has read 54. Again, 54.

In fact, she set a goal this year of 30 books. And she’s already matched it. In September. She still has two and a half months.

In my defense, I read thick, nonfiction books replete with detail. Think Erik Larson’s “Dead Wake.”

That book alone took me nearly two months. In that amount of time, my wife read 13. Again, 13.

But her tendency toward the smell and feel of a good hardback or softback is more than matched by my penchant for fixing my eyes on a screen of some sort.

I don’t mean to brag, but I’m currently balancing “Mad Men” and “Parks and Recreation” while walking on a treadmill at the gym.

I’ve also binge-watched “The West Wing,” “The Office,” “House of Cards” and “The Ranch.”

And I have plans to watch “Last Chance U,” “Narcos,” “Stranger Things” and “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.” And you know “House of Cards” and “The Ranch” soon will return with new episodes.

And that’s just Netflix.

There’s also “The Big Bang Theory,” “The Odd Couple,” “Gotham,” “Madam Secretary,” “Turn” and “Nashville,” which will return at its new home, CMT, after being unceremoniously dumped at ABC. To name a few.

And then, there’s the new series I’m looking forward to. There’s CBS’ comedy “Kevin Can Wait,” featuring Kevin James and his return to TV; ABC’s political thriller “Designated Survivor,” starring Kiefer Sutherland; and Fox’s sports drama “Pitch,” the story of the first female Major League Baseball player.

It’s gonna be a busy fall, I’m afraid, and I haven’t even gotten into the baseball (Chicago Cubs), football (Iowa Hawkeyes and Minnesota Vikings), hockey (Chicago Blackhawks) and basketball (Iowa Hawkeyes and Chicago Bulls) I watch year-round.

It’s no wonder we were tagged as a Nielsen Family twice in one year . It wasn’t because of my wife.

Don’t get me wrong. I have other interests. I work out. Labor around the house. Attend sporting events, concerts and plays. I’ve even started a new book, “The Lost Continent” by Bill Bryson.

So far, it’s proving to be a quick and fun read.

And that’s good. The new fall season starts Monday.

3 thoughts on “It’s gonna be a busy fall

Leave a Reply

